Technology in Careers

I have already applied to around 10 internships and have only heard back from 2 of them. I never thought applying for jobs and finding an internship would be such a difficult process. However, I got 2 interviews from them, I may not have got the job but the interview experience I got from it was worth all of my time in effort.

Using sites like LinkedIn and Indeed has helped finding jobs in my career so much easier to find and is the reason I was able to apply for 10 internships. Below I listed some Graphic Design Internships that I would like to apply to and also the types of jobs that I would like to apply to when I graduate.  One of the Graphic Design careers that I thought would be really cool to apply to in the future would be the creative content director for WZZM 13, I think a lot of the technological requirements match with what I’ve been learning in my graphic design classes. I have also listed below all of the technology that you need to have knowledge of when applying for the job. I found it really cool that we had learned about many of the technologies in this class (Technology in Public Relations and Advertising).

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 12.46.27 PM.png

VerStrate, S. (April 11, 2017). Screenshot of Indeed Search Engine. [PNG]. Retrieved from https://www.indeed.com/

1. Graphic Design Intern

2. Creative Content Producer

3. Digital Media Communications Intern

4. Social Media Marketing Intern

  • ShutterBooth
  • https://www.myinterfase.com/gvsu/Job/Detail/QjFlbHRIMHQveXA3c0hzSWxwMEhFd0F2cGswNDlteVdqbjVmS3NGaW1OST01
  • The software/technology/digital skills that the position requires or recommends:
    • Assist in writing marketing materials including but not limited to brochures, flyers, websites, and presentations* Assist in putting together a photo and video shoot for a new product launch
    • Market and promote ShutterBooth using various popular social networking sites and blogs
    • Assist with graphic design, web site design and development

5. Digital Marketing and Graphic Design Intern

  • CBS Radio
  • https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/view/276081733/
  • The software/technology/digital skills that the position requires or recommends:
    • Proficient in using Adobe Creative Suite (CS5 +) computer software to execute designs (Illustrator, InDesign, Photoshop)
    • ‪Understand Google Adwords basics
    • Ability to understand Google Analytics‪
    • Some prior experience working in digital marketing or social media
    • ‪Up-to-date on the latest social media trends and key social media platforms including Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Google+‪
    • Willingness to learn and utilize inbound marketing software and other marketing tools.
    • ‪Optimize website content using best SEO practices and tools
    • ‪Creating infographics Or other visual assets
    • ‪Creating banner ads and other web marketing materials
Leave a Reply

